Keep Calm and Curry On!

Where I spent a lot of time the last couple of days

Where I spent a lot of time the last couple of days

You may know that British food doesn’t exactly have the reputation for being the world’s most delicious cuisine. I can’t say it’s my favourite cuisine as when I think of British food, fish and chips is the first thing that comes to mind. And I’ve stopped eating fish (Although the first time I ate fish and chips in the UK, I thought it was good). Even the “vegetarian burgers” I’ve had since coming here have – in general – been mediocre.

However, the last couple of days have been food heaven for me. Yesterday (Saturday, September 14), I was taking a nice stroll in the centre of Leeds when someone handed me a flyer for the annual Curry Festival. It wasn’t my introduction to the event as an hour or two prior, I saw an ad for it on my street. But I wasn’t planning on attending the Curry Festival, as I didn’t know where it would be. However, when the dude in the city centre handed me a flyer and told me the Millennium Square (the festival’s venue) was a short walk away, there was no way I wasn’t going.

Plenty of options for me!

Plenty of options for me!

I’m sure you know the UK has welcomed large numbers of Indian immigrants throughout the years, and perhaps India’s biggest influence on the UK is reflected in the food. In just about every British city, there is a wide variety of Indian restaurants and Leeds is no different. Several restaurants put up stands for the festival.

I've always loved Indian cuisine

I’ve always loved Indian cuisine

But food from the subcontinent (Thai food was also represented) wasn’t the only part of the festival. There was Indian music and dance on hand, including dhol drummers I saw yesterday.

Bhangra Dancers

Bhangra Dancers

A belly dancer

A belly dancer

Drol Drummers

Dhol Drummers

I can't say I was terribly impressed by the Foxwood Steel Bandits/Silver Steel Sparrows

I can’t say I was terribly impressed by the Foxwood Steel Bandits/Silver Steel Sparrows

Thank goodness there’s lot of Indian cuisine in the UK!

Leave a Reply

