Seeing some Jazz – or not

The man I wanted to see in Leeds...

The man I wanted to see in Leeds…

Sometimes, it’s great to have a touch of home in a foreign country.

A couple of weeks ago, I saw a poster near my flat promoting DJ Jazzy Jeff‘s appearance at a club in Leeds named Oceana. When I think of DJ Jazzy Jeff, two things come to mind: my favorite sitcom, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air (where his character was constantly thrown out of the front door by Uncle Phil) and the carefree (for me) 1990s. It also doesn’t hurt that he’s from Philadelphia (If you don’t know, I’m from a New Jersey town about 20 minutes from Philly). I figured since entrance to Oceana that night only cost £5, I’d go.

(Speaking of Philadelphia, earlier this week, the Philadelphia 76ers came to Manchester – which is roughly an hour from Leeds to play a preseason game against the Oklahoma City Thunder. I really wanted to go – except that it really wasn’t practical with my schedule).

Satoshi filling out a survey in an attempt to win a free shot

Satoshi filling out a survey in an attempt to win a free shot

So I went and I rounded up Satoshi, whom I met up with the night before at the Hourglass. After telling him who DJ Jazzy Jeff is, we hung out at Oceana and danced the night away. The night was so much fun (Satoshi told me he likes going to clubs, so I may have a clubbing buddy), the music was good (I enjoyed dancing to it), Bacardis were available for £1.50, and I got a free shot. There was only one problem with the night…

I never saw DJ Jazzy Jeff.

The only reason why I went to Oceana that night was to see him, and he might have been the main attraction for others. Several times throughout the night, the DJ/MC kept reminding folks they would see DJ Jazzy Jeff, which was great. Except that I had a class at ten a.m. on Friday, and I do like my sleep (Or at the very least, not being sleepy in class).  Being that  Oceana is roughly 30 minutes from my flat on foot and I like at least six hours of sleep, I was going to give him a certain time before leaving (It would have been so much better if I didn’t have class that morning). So I bounced just before one a.m., figuring that he would probably make his grand entrance five minutes later.

I asked Satoshi what time DJ Jazzy Jeff arrived, and it was 1:30. Of course, he would show up fashionably late. I just wish his ass had arrived sooner. Maybe I shouldn’t prioritize sleep so much. Oh well, I had a very fun night. But I wish I had seen the man I showed up to see.

Anyway, I’ve had a fun week (Stressing out a bit about an assignment, but that’s nothing new). My runs with the Hyde Park Harriers were a lot and on Monday, I met up with members of Leeds Met’s ACS (Africa Caribbean Society) for our introduction meeting – or something like that. The night was fun once I started to talk to people and get their names (whether I remember their names is another story). Hopefully, the group will plan some fun activities throughout the year, and I will be able to take part in them.

Jackson, (I forgot her name), Peter, me an Adina at the ACS meetup

Jackson, (I forgot her name), Peter, me an Adina at the ACS meetup

Isabelle, Johanna and Satoshi at the Hourglass on Satoshi's birthday (Alex didn't ruin the shot)

Isabelle, Johanna and Satoshi at the Hourglass on Satoshi’s birthday (Alex didn’t ruin the shot)

I'm sorry this picture is a little blurry, but this is my coursemates and I at Headingley Taps last night

I’m sorry this picture is a little blurry, but this is my coursemates and I at Headingley Taps last night

Actually, I’ve had some sort of fun everyday night this year. I went to the weekly CouchSurfing meetup on Wednesday, which happened to be Satoshi’s birthday. I was able to get a couple of folks to sing an impromptu “Happy Birthday” for him (Also, Johanna – a German living in Leeds whom I met the previous CouchSurfing meetup – celebrated her birthday the day before). Someone else I know celebrated a birthday this week. Maxi – a coursemate – celebrated her birthday on Thursday. So last night, all of us went to a nearby bar named the Headingley Taps, where – among other things – we were entertained by Jorge’s crazy stories (I can’t remember most of them now, but I’m sure he’ll repeat them at some point).

And earlier today, I had my best Park Run, finishing 4th overall in 17:29 (I ran roughly 30 seconds faster than last week). I should’ve caught the guy immediately ahead of me, so that’s motivation for next week. Afterwards, I went to a café opposite the University of Leeds campus… oddly enough, named Opposite (I pass it all the time, but had never entered it). I had some good hot chocolate, and I chatted a bit with some other participants in the Park Run.

Nishant, Lana and Stuart after the Park Run today

Nishant, Lana and Stuart after the Park Run today

Now, I have to complete this stupid assignment.

Leave a Reply

