London Calling

One giant step...

One giant step…

Well, this blog entry is a bit rushed – and light on pictures. But I have some news…

1) Later today, I’m going to London for the World Travel Market, which is a big travel industry exhibition. Actually, I should probably be getting ready this second. But I’ll fine. I’m really looking forward to it, as it should be a lot of fun.

2) Earlier this week, I learned my marks for my first assignment (which was for Marketing Responsible Tourism). Unfortunately… it wasn’t as good as it should have been. I really wasn’t sure about how to do that assignment and of course, that’s totally my fault. I’m peeved about it, but there’s obviously nothing I can do now. Except do much much better on the next one.

3) My Park Run two days ago (Saturday, November 2) was actually quite good. I completed the 5k in 17:37 – my second fastest one. I didn’t think I ran a great time when I crossed the finish line – it didn’t help that I was a bit slowed down by zig-zagging around all the slowpokes. But I’m quite pleased with the time.

4) I don’t feel well. Yesterday, I was so tired – probably because I got 6-7 hours of sleep Sunday morning. I feel a bit weak.

Bob Brown on the left...

Bob Brown on the left…

5) Well, a day before our field trip to Scarborough, I attended a very interesting gathering at the Leeds West Indian Centre. Bob Brown – the founder of the Chicago chapter of the Black Panthers – spoke. And he was informative and entertaining. And I was thinking… this brother should write a book. I’m not sure how much of it I would agree with, but he would surely tell some interesting stories about the Black Panthers.

Among other things, Mr. Brown said that “black power was not created by Stokely Carmichael” and that it originated in Egypt. He added that people who say this generation (of young people) is worse than ours are “liars.”

Actually, the whole evening was organized by a non-profit organization named Angel of Youths that’s working to improve the lives of young people in Leeds. Afterwards, there was a spirited panel discussion where debated issues affecting people – well, mostly black people – in the city.

The panelists...

The panelists…

Well, that’s all for now. But I’ll tell you about London later.

Leave a Reply

