New Year’s Day

At the WharfChambers

At the Wharf Chambers

Well, 2014 has come upon us. The last day of 2013 wasn’t too exciting as I spent the morning in the gym, where I met up with Nishant. Afterwards, we went to Opposite for hot chocolate (in my case) and a brownie. It was the first time I had gone to Opposite on someday other than a Saturday morning after the ParkRun, and the place was almost empty – a bit of a strange feeling. Afterwards, I spent a lot of time in the library doing an assignment.

The Autobodies

The Autobodies

As for last night, I gave some thought to saying in and not doing a damn thing. Especially since a lot of people I know in Leeds were out of town and the clubs were charging a ridiculous amount of money. But I figured why not go out and see what the Leeds City Centre is like on a New Year’s Eve. So I went to the Wharf Chambers, where the entrance was free. A decent crowd gathered to hear a couple of bands named Broken Reeds (who did Lou Reed and Velvet Underground covers) and the Autobodies (who did a cover of Blur’s “Song 2”). Afterwards, a DJ did his thing, sending everyone into the New Year dancing (The most memorable tune he played was Chic’s “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)”). I didn’t feel like staying there ’til like three or four in the morning, so I left like ten minutes past midnight.

Temple Newsam

Temple Newsam

But just like Christmas Day, I didn’t spend the morning sleeping in. The ParkRun was being held in Hyde Park this morning and while I slept well, I may not have trained wisely recently. On the 29th and 30th, I went crazy with the mileage I put in on the treadmill, which may not have been unwise if I weren’t doing the ParkRun today. But I was. Anyway, there were more people doing the ParkRun today than on Christmas, including a dog. One of the other competitors had brought his pooch to the starting line and that pooch finished ahead of me 😦 I finished third with a time of 17:35 – but that should have been better.

Runners finishing up at Temple Newsam

Runners finishing up at Temple Newsam

However, today was just a little different (Well, other than being beaten by a dog). A ParkRun doubleheader was on the cards – runners had the option of doing another ParkRun just after the Hyde Park one at a place called Temple Newsam. I wasn’t planning on doing a second one but I was disappointed about my performance in Hyde Park today, so I figured “Why Not?”

After getting a ride with someone named Karen (some people supposedly ran the six miles [I think the correct figure is in miles] between Hyde Park and Temple Newsam, arriving just before the start of the race), I lined up shortly after ten a.m. And… I can’t say I did badly. I don’t what my time is yet but the course at Temple Newsam is more difficult than one at Hyde Park. It seemed longer and more like a cross-country course. I finished fifth, running 19:06. Interestingly enough, the winner at Hyde Park this morning won at Temple Newsam. I’m more disappointed about the performance at Hyde Park than about the one at Temple Newsam, but oh well.

Maybe I should spend the rest of today getting some rest.

Leave a Reply

